Posted by: alqamardesigns | March 9, 2008

UK MacDonald’s French Fries?

Asalaamu’alaykum, I recieved many emails and texts that UK MacDonald’s French Fries are Haraam (forbidden for us eat), on the claims that they pre-cook their French Fries before arriving to the restaurants after being fried in non-vegatable oil.

I’m not a fast food fan anyway, but I decided to contact MacDonald’s to find out if this is true, this is what they had to say:


Dear Miss Khan-Malik

Thank you for your recent email regarding our menu items and the food we serve at McDonald’s.

In answer to your specific enquiry, I would like to assure you that the French Fries served here in the UK contain no traces of animal flavourings and are not precooked.

McDonald’s French Fries and Filet O’ Fish are cooked in a new non- hydrogenated blend of sunflower and rapeseed oil, making them 100 percent vegetarian-friendly. You may also be interested to know that our French Fries are fully approved by the Vegetarian Society.

A full listing of ingredients for all our Menu items is available at Please refer to the ‘Eat Smart’ section and follow the links for the ‘Ingredients List’ for further information.

Should you require any further clarification on our menu items or on any other aspect of our business then please do not hesitate to revisit our web site or alternatively telephone us on the number below.


Rhonda Floyd
Internet Response Team

McDonald’s Customer Services Department
11 – 59 High Road
East Finchley
N2 8AW

Tel: 08705 244622

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s


%d bloggers like this: