Posted by: alqamardesigns | February 22, 2008

Will You Then Not Be Grateful? [Quran 21:80]

Asalamualaykum Warahmatullahe Wabarakatahu

I came across a really nice blog yesterday, called “The Long Road Ahead – The story from Azim & Tehseen as it unfolds…”, Below is one of their posts, which I found very beneficial, inshAllah you will also:

The Prophet Muhammad (Peace & Blessings Be Upon Him) Said;

“Take benefit of five before five:

Your youth before your old age,
Your health before your sickness,
Your wealth before your poverty,
Your free-time before your preoccupation, and
Your life before your death.”

Reported Al-Haakim & Al-Bayhaqee

And it is the second of these which I wish to talk about specifically.

Over the last few days I have been feeling increasingly unwell. And have been struggling through the days with a sore throat, headache and fever. Then last night I really began to experience sever pain in my throat and was unable to sleep. Therefore this morning I went to the doctors, and learnt by the Qadr of Allah, I had Tonsillitis. And my tonsils were inflamed to a shocking extent, and was prescribed Penicillin and a few other things.

So here I am, at home on a Thursday afternoon, feeling week, struggling to speak and genuinely in sever pain, every time I try to swallow something. And then I think what a useful reminder this has been?

One often gets into the invincible mode, where one is doing many, many things and despite feeling shattered continues, thinking I am young, healthy inshAllah, I will be alright – well maybe you will, and then maybe you wont.

I have many things to do, and am unable, and pray Allah makes me from the patient, as being sick is not good. There are many things I would have loved to have got done today or in the next few days, however am unable, and therefore I remind myself first and foremost, and then you guys, use your time wisely, and make the most of the opportunities good health provides you. Do not procrastinate in working good deeds, as by Allah, the opportunity may escape you. Maybe you will want to do something good, but will be unable. Maybe you will want to take 10 minutes out to even speak to your folks, but you will be unable, maybe you will want to make a long sajda before Allah, but you will be unable, maybe you will want to check on a friend, but you will be unable, or maybe call to Islam, but you will be unable. Maybe your health will just not survive the test of time, so your plans for doing goodness, will not materialise. Or maybe, just maybe, as the final point of the hadith points out, maybe you just wont survive, and the point where you will be craving the opportunity to do good deeds will be in your grave,

Last night as I lay awake in my room, I just looked around, and thought subhan Al Malik, what will it be like in our grave. As, I was in my bed, but drawing so many parallels, as it was dark, I was alone, I couldn’t call out, and I thought subhan Al Aziz, what will the grave be like?

Will we be in the company of our good deeds, in a bright space, with the distinct feeling of Jannah, or will we be in the exact opposite, feeling constrained, tortured, with the up close and personal feeling of Jahanam? May Allah protect the Muslims from this.

I guess this post is just to express my genuine desire for all of us to just take a check of ourselves, and consider are we doing what the Messenger, Upon Whom Be Peace Said, when he spoke the truth and said;

“Take benefit of five before five:

your youth before your old age,
your health before your sickness,
your wealth before your poverty,
your free-time before your preoccupation, and
your life before your death.”

JazakAllahu khairan, may Allah cure the brother and make it a purification for him.ameen

111.jpg

 


Responses

  1. The thing that caught my attention to this whoel thning was the haddith, i love it. =D
    I hope you feel better, inshallah.

    salaamz

  2. wa’alaykum asalaam,

    yes the above post was great, an eye openener for me, I believe the br who wrote it is fully recovered now.. Alhamdulillah!

    tc Ihsan.


Leave a Reply

Categories

